overfilled oil and old oil

Having trouble? Need more info on something mechanical? Ask here!

Moderator: Modsquad

accyuklad
Regular User
Regular User
Year: 2010
Color: black

overfilled oil and old oil

Post by accyuklad »

brought 2010 pcx sunday and started doing service on oil and coolant etc and then today decided to check out gearbox and behold

I just took off the fill nut from gearbox and it just shot out old black sludge oil I was like wtf

so im guessing old owner as some how overfilled it and never replaced it since they owned it

so I drained it all out and put castrol power1 racing 10w30 oil in

is this fine to use castrol power1 racing 10w30 as its fully oil jaso ma as they also work with wet clutch which should do fine for gearbox
GeorgeSK
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: 13PCX,15Forza
Color: Both Red

Re: overfilled oil and old oil

Post by GeorgeSK »

Wow - I can't see how it could ever get that overfilled. Good thing it was on your hit list.

I am no expert, but your oil choice seems perfectly fine to me. I think most of us just use what didn't go into the oil change as the fluid for the gearbox.
On my scoot, getting there is WAY more than half the fun!

Please paste this address into a new tab and add yourself to the map: https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=1NlP7xk7KMdJReQnm-iDhldFBdpQ&ll=4.995760578398276%2C0&z=2
but please, don't delete anybody, no matter how badly they deserve deleting :)
accyuklad
Regular User
Regular User

Post by accyuklad »

also I checked belt as it felt it was holding back and it was full of cracks like its never ever been replaced but the rollers where new so im confused by previous owner didn't do belt aswell lol

already did oil and coolant as I didn't trust the stuff they used for it

this is problem with second hand you don't know if its been looked after and then could lead you spending money but lucky enough I got it cheap so its worked out good for me
springer1
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor