Honda Pcx front noise

Having trouble? Need more info on something mechanical? Ask here!

Moderator: Modsquad

Andreapcx
Year: 2016
Color: matt grey

Honda Pcx front noise

Post by Andreapcx »

Hi all

It's my first time posting here. I have bought a new Pcx 3 weeks ago and while riding i can hear a clinking noise around the steering bar and its surroundings. I managed to dismantle the front part of the pcx to try and locate from where the noise is coming but i couldn't locate exactly from where's it's coming. I also visited the honda dealer and was told that the plastic visor is the culprit, but I drove with out it and still heard the noise. It seems that its coming from the front fork since it only happens when passing over a small pot hole or bump in the road. Anyone had a similar issue?? Btw dealer also told me that all bearing are in good nick as the bike is still brand new.
Andreapcx

Re: Honda Pcx front noise

Post by Andreapcx »

Its more like a rattle rather than a clinking noise.
k2apache6.0
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: 2013
Color: Red

Post by k2apache6.0 »

It seems that its coming from the front fork since it only happens when passing over a small pot hole or bump in the road.

Could it be your keys hanging down rapping on the bodywork, presuming you have more than the PCX key on your keyring?
My PCX mod build here..
http://www.hondapcx.org/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=7113
Andreapcx

Post by Andreapcx »

Hi many thanks for your reply. Currently i only have the pcx key alone, so its not the issue. What can cause the front fork to rattle??
Tonyx
Color: red

Post by Tonyx »

It could be the fork head bearing nut needs to be torqued to spec. Do you have tools to re-torque it?
Andreapcx

Post by Andreapcx »

Unfortunately i dont have any torque wrench. Would this still happen even if there is no movement in upper part of the fork when holding the front brake??
ScooteringAbout
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by ScooteringAbout »