Advice for riding with passenger?

General Honda PCX chat, questions about the PCX, or questions about riding.

Moderator: Modsquad

kamakanaola808
Year: 2015
Color: White

Advice for riding with passenger?

Post by kamakanaola808 »

I have owned my 2015 PCX150 for a little less than a month, but have ridden a smaller 50cc Metropolitan for the previous 5 years. I have no experience carrying a passenger, and probably would not feel comfortable even attempting to do so for at least another month or two.

Does anyone have any good advice for riding with a passenger? What technical aspects and safety precautions should I consider? Do I need to make any adjustments to the scooter itself?
zanggerk
Year: 2012
Color: black

Re: Advice for riding with passenger?

Post by zanggerk »

I would recommend to ride with a light passenger first. Tell him/her to keep the feet on the foot rests during the whole ride and not to step on the exhaust.
homie
Prestige
Prestige
Year: 2015 PCX150
Color: Pearl White

Post by homie »

There are some simple do's and don't's... I think you can take a class
Attachments
dolls.png
dolls.png (225.77 KiB) Viewed 1860 times
Mel46
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: 2013
Color: red PCX

Post by Mel46 »

The bike acts differently with a passenger. It takes longer to stop because the pcx only has disc brakes in the front, and no abs. Also, when you turn, the passenger must learn to lean with you. If they do not lean with you there will be problems.
Currently own:
Red 2013 Honda PCX150

Givi tall windshield & tailbox - Lots of extra lights
Custom seat from Thailand - Bad Boy Airhorn
Takegawa Lowering Shocks - Michelin City Grip Tires
Headlight assy upgraded to LEDs w/HS5 main bulbs
NCY variator, drive face, and rollers
kramnala58
Mod Emeritus
Mod Emeritus
Color: White is faster

Post by kramnala58 »