Question regarding smartkey system

Having trouble? Need more info on something mechanical? Ask here!

Moderator: Modsquad

op3l
Regular User
Regular User
Year: 2019
Color: Black

Question regarding smartkey system

Post by op3l »

Hi all, first post newbie here.

My PCX is a 2018(or 2019 in the US) and has the smart key system. It works great but the last month I've had to leave it sitting for about 3 weeks and came back to a dead battery. I figured it died cause the computer sensors was sitting in standby mode waiting to detect that key to start the engine?

So is there a way for me to turn off the smartkey system if I have to leave it parked for extended periods of time(if over 2-3 weeks) so as to not come back to a dead battery?
Jge64
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster
Year: 18 300 xmax
Color: White

Re: Question regarding smartkey system

Post by Jge64 »

You shouldn’t have to turn off any system to get a bike to hold a charge so it’ll start after three weeks. It’s obviously still under warranty I would take it in and let them look at it. Make sure you’re keeping the key when you store the bike inside, away from the bike.
Glen
‘15 PCX build thread here:
https://www.hondapcx.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4640
Current: ‘18 XMAX 300 & ‘22 NAVI
alx123
Bangkok Rider
Bangkok Rider
Year: 2016
Color: Fast White

Post by alx123 »

Did you turn on the alarm? It could drain the battery in 3 weeks I think.
Everything looks better from the inside of a motorcycle helmet...
op3l
Regular User
Regular User

Post by op3l »

So the smart key system doesn't use any power(or negligible) if it's sitting there?

I'm not sure if I turned on the alarm or not, I don't usually bother with it and this is the first time I've left it sitting for this long. I ride it every day so it should have been topped off on electricity before I left it. The key was no where in range of the bike during the 3 weeks.

But is there a way I can turn the system off with the remote?
alx123
Bangkok Rider
Bangkok Rider