pcx 125 not starting at all

Having trouble? Need more info on something mechanical? Ask here!

Moderator: Modsquad

mikebh3000
Year: 2011
Color: red

pcx 125 not starting at all

Post by mikebh3000 »

Hi,
I am new with a bike, and my pck 125 is not starting at all, I followed the instructions but nothing happened, the previous owner left the bike inside his garage for a while, wondering if it may be a battery issue or something else.

Thanks
Mike
GeorgeSK
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: 13PCX,15Forza
Color: Both Red

Re: pcx 125 not starting at all

Post by GeorgeSK »

We will need details.
You turn the key on. What happens with the instrument panel? Headlight? Do the turn signals and horn work?

You flick the kill switch to ON. Do you hear anything?

Obviously when you squeeze the daylights out of the left (or even right) brake lever with the sidestand up, nothing happens, but without knowing the whole story we know nothing.

Adding location to your profile would also be a nice touch. Thanks.
On my scoot, getting there is WAY more than half the fun!

Please paste this address into a new tab and add yourself to the map: https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=1NlP7xk7KMdJReQnm-iDhldFBdpQ&ll=4.995760578398276%2C0&z=2
but please, don't delete anybody, no matter how badly they deserve deleting :)
Mel46
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: 2013
Color: red PCX

Post by Mel46 »

If you turn the key to the on position you should hear something, and see some lights on the dash. If not, charge the battery.

If you get lights make sure the side kickstand is up. It will NOT start with the side Stand down.
Then squeeze the left brake lever.
Make sure the kill rocker is in the proper position, give the bike a little gas and press the start button.

If nothing happens, charge the battery. How old is the battery? If a charge won't hold then buy a new one.
Currently own:
Red 2013 Honda PCX150

Givi tall windshield & tailbox - Lots of extra lights