Clattering upon deceleration between 10-15 mph

General Honda PCX chat, questions about the PCX, or questions about riding.

Moderator: Modsquad

SlothNast
Year: 2011
Color: Red

Clattering upon deceleration between 10-15 mph

Post by SlothNast »

Hi all,

Definitely curious on what your thoughts are in regards to this. I am fairly new to the PCX, and have a 2011 PCX125 with just under 2000 miles on it. Everything seems to work great, service was performed at ~600 mi, and its only until recently I discovered this problem.

Upon slowing down or braking, I typically try to balance engine-braking with actual braking in a way that allows my brakes to have a reasonable lifetime, while also not putting too much stress on the engine when letting off the throttle (i.e. letting off the throttle on a descent). Something I've noticed is that when I am primarily engine-braking between 10-15 mph, there is a rattling from under the seat that I can quite easily hear and slightly feel. There's definitely a sweet spot at around maybe 13 mph, because any slower/faster, it goes away. Also, there is no noise when I accelerate through 13 mph. I've seen a few posts on this, and sense a mixed opinion between this being 'normal' behavior or something to do with clutch/bearings. Just curious if this is indeed normal (and why), or if it deserves some more investigating.

Any word on this would be very helpful and greatly appreciated!

Thanks
gn2
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: None

Re: Clattering upon deceleration between 10-15 mph

Post by gn2 »

It could be the centrifugal clutch disengaging.
As you slow down there will be a set speed at which the centrifugal force on the shoes is not enough to keep them on the clutch drum.
Usually if you decelerate using engine braking only you can feel a slight surge as the clutch lets go.
If your clutch is not releasing smoothly, it might be the cause.
Four decades on two wheels has taught me nothing, all advice given is guaranteed to be wrong