That seat 'opener damper'

Having trouble? Need more info on something mechanical? Ask here!

Moderator: Modsquad

fish
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor

That seat 'opener damper'

Post by fish »

OK, I was never impressed with the little seat hold-opener from new. It was pretty weak and would just barely hold the seat up when scoot on the center stand, and not at all when on the side stand. Now, after the dealer installed the fuel pump, it came back to me too weak to hold up the seat in any position. I'm no engineer or mathematician - but the location of that little piston rod seems poorly thought out - and seems to me it would need to be one strong little Mother to hold that seat from the position burried down there!

Since it was weak from new, and is failing now - rather than make a warranty issue out of it - and necessitating another rear panel and seat removal at the dealer (they're 0 for 2 in doing this without breaking clips):

My question: What other way could I fashion a better seat hold-open device? They make those rear hatch piston-rods in all kinds of sizes....thinking of fitting one to one side of the seat and bucket.
Or, should I make a warranty issue out of this?
Feedback, please.
Fish
Monty1952
Regular User
Regular User

Re: That seat 'opener damper'

Post by Monty1952 »

My Honda store has already filed a warranty climate on my failing sear damper. It wasn't working well before the fuel pump visit and they said they would do it in the spring.
2014 Forza - Silver 2,300km
2013 BMW C600 Sport 0km!
stryder123
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: 2014 forza
Color: Red

Post by stryder123 »

If you like to redesign and manufacture things I believe the very best solution would be to make it so the seat lifts up from the side, not the back. That would give you easy access to the entire under seat area.
fish
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor

Post by fish »