Coolant / Final Drive Oil

Having trouble? Need more info on something mechanical? Ask here!

Moderator: Modsquad

JPCX
Year: 2016
Color: Red

Coolant / Final Drive Oil

Post by JPCX »

Hey all. I'm looking to change the coolant and final drive oil in my 2016 PCX150 for the first time and I'm trying to make sure I'm using the right stuff.

I saw Mitch's video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oNMirMiJls) of him changing the coolant in his PCX and he used the gallon pictured below. I went out and bought it from my local auto part store since there's no Honda dealers around me. Is this coolant good for my PCX?

Also, where can I order final drive oil from? or which should I use? Thanks in advance. I'm still new to maintaining this beautiful bike.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2022-03-04 at 4.23.33 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-03-04 at 4.23.33 PM.png (564.54 KiB) Viewed 755 times
Jge64
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster
Year: 18 300 xmax
Color: White

Re: Coolant / Final Drive Oil

Post by Jge64 »

You can use any 10W-30 automotive oil in the rear end, there’s very little pressure and no combustion so it lasts forever… Don’t overthink this.
Glen
‘15 PCX build thread here:
https://www.hondapcx.org/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4640
Current: ‘18 XMAX 300 & ‘22 NAVI
pxc-in-japan
Regular User
Regular User
Year: 2015

Post by pxc-in-japan »

I do not know the coolant you showed a picture of, so I cannot say whether it complies with Honda's specs for the PCX, but, my official PCX manual says this...
Pro Honda HP Coolant or an equivalent high quality ethylene glycol antifreeze containing silicate-free corrosion inhibitors.
The coolant system volume is smaller than most people imagine. You do not need a 5 litre container.
I used a cup of coolant and about the same amount of water, which is enough.

Gear oil for the final drive is not recommended by Honda.
The manual says...
Pro Honda HP4M motor oil or equivalent
API service classification: SJ or higher.
JASO T 903 standard: MB
Viscosity: SAE 10W-30.