Newbie Intro - Matt

Pictures of your scooter, ride reports, and day trips.

Moderator: Modsquad

mcgw
Year: 2019 PCX 150
Color: Bronze Metallic

Newbie Intro - Matt

Post by mcgw »

Hello everyone! I'm Matt and I live in Miami, FL. I am originally from Fort Worth, TX and relocated to Miami, FL five months ago. I had been really wanting another scooter (in the past I had a Honda Ruckus). I researched, and researched more, and ended up buying a 2019 Honda PCX 150. I've only had the PCX 150 for a couple of weeks, so I am still getting accustomed as I don't have too much riding experience. I'm enjoying taking it easy and getting acclimated. I look forward to interacting with you all in this forum and continuing to learn. Professionally I am an analyst in the investment business, and I am married to my husband, Jhon, El Colombiano. If you think wives don't let you have any fun, neither do husbands... hehe. I speak English and Spanish and a nice day for me is a day at the beach, and I have loved my two rides so far up and down A1A in Miami Beach. I bought the scooter to enjoy and to run around town on. My confidence increases each time I ride and I am always open to suggestions.

Jge64
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster
Year: 18 300 xmax
Color: White

Re: Newbie Intro - Matt

Post by Jge64 »

Just be very careful around traffic in South Florida. I am right up the road from you in Fort Lauderdale, and unfortunately because there is such a mix of communities and tourists down here, people do not watch where they’re going, do not use turn signals, it is really atrocious.

I suggest you try to stay in neighborhoods and take a look at some maps to plan out where you can go they will keep you off main thoroughfare‘s. I use my bike in my neighborhood and for short errand trips, always trying to stay off main roads and interstates if I can.

A great read and will teach you a lot about how to ride:

https://www.amazon.com/Proficient-Motor ... 735&sr=8-2
Glen