MPG: Getting around 90

General Honda PCX chat, questions about the PCX, or questions about riding.

Moderator: Modsquad

vito
Regular User
Regular User
Year: 2019
Color: silver

MPG: Getting around 90

Post by vito »

Reading on this forum about folks that get 115 mpg or similar numbers, made me wonder about how those PCX's are being ridden. I've had my PCX150 for about 2 months now, and have 800 miles on the odometer. Although I live in a small city, I am close to the "edge" of that city and most of my riding is on country roads or semi-country roads with either a 45 mph or 55 mph posted speed. And maybe because I have been riding motorcycles for the last 35 years, I tend to be pretty heavy on the throttle with the little PCX. I find this scooter is tremendous fun to ride, and a very, very different experience than when I ride my Honda Goldwing. So most of the time I am pushing the PCX for all its worth, and it seems to handle this just fine, but my mpg is averaging right about 90. I guess if I lived in a big city and mostly or only rode the scooter in heavy, slow traffic, my mpg would be much higher, but I think that would be far less fun.

FWIW, riding the Goldwing two up, then riding the PCX solo and aggressively, I am starting to think that maybe at some point I should trade them both in and get something in the middle as my only ride. Since Honda does not make such a thing (at least for sale in the U.S.), the Burgman 400 is sounding better and better. I need to take one for a demo ride and see if its as much fun as the PCX, while having the power to actually get on Interstate highways.
U.S. Army retired
Former MSF Instructor
Fully retired!
2019 Honda PCX150
2021 Can Am Spyder RT
HondaC110
Regular User
Regular User
Color: Bronze

Re: MPG: Getting around 90

Post by HondaC110 »

I have a '19 and average 93 or 94 mpg. My riding consists of 100% traffic jamming in San Francisco. The poor little thing never really gets out on any kind of open road...
big bear