HJC CL17 FF Helmet

Riding jackets, pants, boots, GPS, toolkits, etc.

Moderator: Modsquad

Old Grinner
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor

HJC CL17 FF Helmet

Post by Old Grinner »

So the time had come to toss my faithful Shoei RFR FF helmet . . .. I'm almost embarrassed to admit I've been riding with it for over 20 years. It's usually recommended to replace a helmet every few years since the liner and impact resistant materials tend to deteriorate (Styrofoam for example) and lose their protective qualities. I had to puff up some of the fore head padding with sponge material to kick the can down the road . . . not wise but at the time it got me through.

I wrestled with getting a new 3/4 helmet for hot weather riding to compliment the HJC SyMax III I bought a couple of years ago but the traffic density continues to increase and the incidences of stupidity are in abundant supply thus making a FF helmet more sensible. That said I threw out my old 3/4 helmet a few weeks ago with the anticipation of getting some kind of replacement but wasn't sure what it would be yet.

After much thought and deliberation I concluded that the HJC CL17 checked the most boxes on the list for me when compared with the alternatives. It will be my main "go to" helmet for around town and shorter excursions all year long. The SyMax III remains my long distance helmet. :geek:

Bottom line:

It's relatively lightweight.
Air circulates quite freely inside the helmet which is ideal for really hot weather. There are intake vents in the chin, forehead, and top (three places . . . yes . . . and they all work!!!).
I chose "white" for visibility from what was available.
The breath deflector seems to actually work so far . . . but it's been hot and humid. Will see what happens in cooler temperatures. Seems comfortable riding with shield fully shut.
The price was $125 plus tax with free shipping.
It seemed true to size . . ..
View range is excellent . . . top to bottom and side to side.