How-To: Adjust Combination Brake Cable

Maintenance, guides, and walkthroughs for your PCX. Please do not post questions about repairing or fixing your bike here.

Moderator: Modsquad

EddieC
Regular User
Regular User

How-To: Adjust Combination Brake Cable

Post by EddieC »

Disclaimer - I am not a professional mechanic, so please do not take this as professional advice. I will not be responsible for any mishaps that may come of doing your own maintenance while using this guide, so please proceed with caution.

Tools necessary for the job are:
-10mm socket (extension not required) and socket wrench
-SHORT open ended 12mm wrench (was absolutely necessary in my experience, so I wouldn't even start this unless I had a short wrench)
-Philips head screwdriver
-plastic removing tools (very highly recommended for this job)

So my combi brake lever was a little loose causing it to sit like this:

This was a problem seeing that the brake light switch was not being depressed when the handle was released, resulting in my brake light staying constantly on. When pulling on the cable beyond the brake assembly, the slack went away, and the handle sits flush with the assembly, telling me that this cable is what needs adjustment.

For reasons unknown to me, honda thought it was a better idea to put the adjuster on the end of the cable inside the fairing, versus at the end connecting to the brake handle assembly where it would be easily accessable, like on every other motorcycle I have seen that uses cables. Oh well... they're not getting my money for labor =]

Remove 2 screws and release 2 clips to remove the front grill (plastic removing tools handy)

4 10mm bolts to remove the front screen

and then remove the front meter panel.