CBS causing me problems

General Honda PCX chat, questions about the PCX, or questions about riding.

Moderator: Modsquad

ewganhoff

CBS causing me problems

Post by ewganhoff »

I think the linked brakes on the PCX are an accident waiting to happen.

I'll start by mentioning that I've been riding for 15 years and have had/ridden many bikes big and small from 50cc twist and go through 600 sport bikes to GSX1400. I have never had as many front wheel lock ups while riding in the wet as I do on the PCX.

I am still on the original tyres which are really crap in the wet, but that can't be the whole reason why the front has locked so many times while braking in a straight line.

I'm not Rossi, but I do like to ride by feel, and I do like to break quite hard in the wet while keeping within the limits that I'm expecting. This method has never caused me any trouble before, but with the PCX the front can just go with no warning and I think I've figured out what the problem is.

On a PCX, the front brake works 2 of the pistons in the front calliper and the back brake lever works the rear drum and the 3rd piston in the front calliper. I think this system is robbing me of feel at the front brake lever and to me, that's a very bad thing, especially in the wet.

The other "feature" of the linked brakes that could be adding to the problem is that there is an intensional time delay (correct me if this is not true) between the back brake lever being pulled and the 3rd piston actuating. This means that when I pull the brakes to a point that I think the tyres/conditions can handle I initially get the braking force I was asking for, but after a short time delay the 3rd piston in the front actuates WITH NO EXTRA PRESSURE AT THE LEVER! This means that the front is suddenly asking for more braking force than the tyres/conditions can handle.