US Version PCX: Lack of Idle Stop Feature

Having trouble? Need more info on something mechanical? Ask here!

Moderator: Modsquad

markz

US Version PCX: Lack of Idle Stop Feature

Post by markz »

Having never out growing my love of Honda Mini's, I think this PCX model is one trick ride.

A 125cc four stroke, water cooled, fuel injection etc etc is so cool.

Then I found out as an American, my government protected me from the dastardly "idle stop" feature that the ROW enjoys.

Being anarchist at heart, and an engineer by trade, I feel compelled to make Idle Stop work on my PCX.

I recon, obtaining a "non US" ECU would be a great place to start, but I wonder if there are other things to consider.

I ordered a factory manual, and I'm hoping it is covers the international models as well, but I suspect that won't be included in my US ordered manual.

Has anybody on the forum looked at a non US shop manual? Or better yet are there any Honda engineers on the forum? (I had to ask...)

:D
gn2
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: None

Re: US Version PCX: Lack of Idle Stop Feature

Post by gn2 »

Its an interesting question, imo for what you would gain its not really worth it.
Four decades on two wheels has taught me nothing, all advice given is guaranteed to be wrong
markz

Post by markz »

I thought it looked like a great feature...

So in practice do you turn the feature off?
gn2
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor

Post by gn2 »

No I had it turned on but the fuel savings were absolutely minimal.

Scooter Station did a test...
http://translate.google.com/translate?s ... ml&act=url

1.1 litres per 1000km in US terms is half a gallon per thousand miles and that's in heavy city centre traffic.
Out of town the savings are even less.
Four decades on two wheels has taught me nothing, all advice given is guaranteed to be wrong
khaosaming
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor

Post by khaosaming »