Warning to those changing the gear/transmission oil.

Having trouble? Need more info on something mechanical? Ask here!

Moderator: Modsquad

jkhawaii
Regular User
Regular User

Warning to those changing the gear/transmission oil.

Post by jkhawaii »

I have been a automotive technician for well over 14 years and filling the transmission oil is kicking my ass! I admit that I do not have the proper equipment at my house for the job. One can not just pour the oil in obviously.. so than after a trip to the store to try and find something to use (was thinking empty ketchup/sauce bottle but could not find one. Than I figured that I could just use a freezer bag, cut a small hole in the corner and squeeze it in. Seemed to be working good, oil started flowing out as I filled it.. must be full. As I looked into the small hole I could not see any oil at the bottom of the fill hole, tilting the bike also did not seem to make any oil drip out. Tried to squeeze more oil in, again, oil came out as fast as I put it in. I found a vent hose on the top of the transmission/gear box blew some air into it... yup goes to where I need to put the oil. So, with what little oil I have left I am feeding it droplet by droplet thru a ball point pen caseing into the vent hole.. seems to be filling up as I can see oil contacting the gear as I rotate the wheel.
The internal air volume in the gear box seems to be so small that if you feed oil in the way I was trying to do it, the oil will just spit right out because with the perfect seal I was creating with the bag the air was not being displaced fast enough. it seems a syringe with a small hose is needed for this job.
If I just assumed it was full because the oil came out as fast as I squirted it in the transmission would likely have burned up. such a simple job, yet so hard.
gn2
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: None

Re: Warning to those changing the gear/transmission oil.

Post by gn2 »